Biodesign Challenge Summit 2023

Museum of Modern Art
Panel Judge
Biodesign Challenge Summit 2023
Biodesign Challenge
Parsons New School Logo

Biodesign Challenge Summit 2023

June 22-23, 2023
Museum of Modern Art
& Parsons School of Design
New York, NY


Biodesign Challenge Summit 2023 will showcase art and design projects from student teams around the world. The two-day event will be held at the Museum of Modern Art and Parsons School of Design at The New School. Speakers include Kim Stanley Robinson, Harris Wang, Amber Benezra, and many others. Learn more at the BDC Summit 2023 page. Over two days, finalists showcase their projects before esteemed judges from academia, the arts, and industry to compete for prizes, including the coveted Glass Microbe. Teams are chosen from over 500 students from 15 countries who worked throughout the academic year to develop their visions.

Summit Agenda

Summit Day 1 - June 22, 8:30am – 6:00pm
Parsons School of Design | Tishman Auditorium

Opening Reception and Exhibition - June 22, 6:00pm – 8:00pm
Parsons School of Design | The Sheila C. Johnson Design Center

Summit Day 2 - June 23, 8:30am – 6:00pm
Museum of Modern Art | Titus 1 Theater


  • Shana Agid: Associate Professor of Arts, Media, and Communication, Parsons School of Design + Co-Developer of Working with People
  • Amber Benezra: Published Author + Sociocultural Anthropologist
  • Mitchell Joachim: Cofounder of Terreform ONE + Associate Professor of Practice, NYU
  • Suzanne Lee: Published Author, Designer + Founder of Biofabricate
  • Jiabao Li: Interdisciplinary Artist/Designer + Assistant Professor, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Pearlyn Lii: Artist + Founder of nonstudio
  • Andrew Scarpelli: Cofounder + President of ChiTownBio
  • Harris Wang: Synthetic Biologist + Associate Professor of Systems Biology, Columbia University
  • Devon Ward: Artist, Designer + Assistant Professor, Auburn University


  • Dan Ardia
  • Leslie Atzmon
  • Chazman Childers
  • Carrie Cizauskas, DVM, Ph.D.
  • Alison Cutlan
  • Laura Forlano
  • Aroussiak Gabrielian
  • Elaine Gan
  • Julian Goldman
  • Doug Goodwin
  • Gigi Gronvall, Ph.D.
  • Traci Haddock, Ph.D.
  • Denise Hoffman-Brandt
  • Karen Ingram
  • Nancy J Kelley
  • Brook Kennedy
  • Minji Kim, Ph.D.
  • Todd Kuiken
  • Casey Lardner
  • Jordyn Lee
  • Margaret MacDonald, Ph.D.
  • Lisa Margonelli
  • Ákos Maróy
  • Melissa Marra-Alvarez
  • Wayne Suiter Matamoros
  • Charlotte McCurdy
  • Kit McDonnell
  • Angela McQuillan
  • William Myers
  • Ann Neumann
  • Jeanne Pfordresher
  • Hannah Star Rogers
  • Uday Sheth
  • Laura Splan
  • Sabriya Stukes
  • Orkan Telhan
  • Justice Toshiba Walker
  • Megan Valanidas
  • Harris Wang, Ph.D.
  • Jake Wintermute
  • Elaine Young