Biodesign Challenge Summit 2020

Biodesign Challenge Livestream
Project Advisor
Biodesign Challenge Summit 2020
Biodesign Challenge

Panel Judge—Biodesign Challenge Summit Live Broadcast on YouTube

Biodesign Challenge Summit
June 15–19, 2020
Broadcast live on YouTube
Student Presentations, Q&A's with Judges, Guest Speakers

Summit Speakers


David Benjamin is Founding Principal of The Living, Associate Professor at Columbia GSAPP, and directs the GSAPP Incubator. David Benjamin’s work combines research and practice, and it involves exploring new ideas through prototyping. Focusing on the intersection of biology, computation, and design, Benjamin has articulated three frameworks for harnessing living organisms for architecture: bio-processing, bio-sensing, and bio-manufacturing.

The Living has won many design prizes, including the Emerging Voices Award from the Architectural League, the New Practices Award from the American Institute of Architects New York Chapter, the Young Architects Program Award from MoMA and MoMA PS1, and a Holcim Sustainability Award.

In conversation with Torie Bosch

Annalee Newitz writes science fiction and nonfiction. They are the author of the novels The Future of Another Timeline and Autonomous, which won the Lambda Literary Award. As a science journalist, they are a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times, and have a monthly column in New Scientist. Their forthcoming nonfiction book about archaeology, Four Lost Cities: A Secret History of the Urban Age arrives February 2021 from W.W. Norton.

They have published in The Washington Post, Slate, Popular Science, Ars Technica, The New Yorker, and The Atlantic, among others. They are also the co-host of the Hugo Award-winning podcast Our Opinions Are Correct. Previously, they were the founder of io9, and served as the editor-in-chief of Gizmodo.

Torie Bosch is the editor of Future Tense, a project of Slate, New America, and Arizona State University that looks at the implications of new technologies.

Congratulations to all of the participating schools!

Aalto University
Atlanta International School
California College of the Arts, Design
California State University, Los Angeles
Carnegie Mellon University
College For Creative Studies
Estonian Academy of Arts
Fashion Institute of Technology
Grace Church School
Greenside Design Center
The Hewitt School
Hub for Biotechnology in the Built Environment(Newcastle University and Northumbria University)
Illinois State University
Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey

Jacksonville State University
Keio University
Kent State University
Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Nest Makerspace
New Design High School
New York City College of Technology
New York University, IDM
New York University, ITP
NuVu Innovation Studio
Parsons School of Design
Rhode Island School of Design
RMIT University
Rutgers University
SeaShift Collaborative (CCA, UCDavis, UCSF)
Universidad de los Andes

Universidad del Istmo
University of Applied Sciences Saarbrücken
University of British Columbia
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of Cincinnati
University of Colorado, Boulder
University of Michigan
University of New Mexico
University of Southern California
University of Sydney
University of Technology Sydney
University of Toledo
University of Wisconsin, Stout

Summit Judges

Summit Judges
Jasmina Aganovic
Christina Agapakis
Nathan Allen
Dan Ardia
Leslie Atzmon
Torie Bosch
Victoria Colangelo
Carrie Cizauskas
Alison Cutlan
Heather Davis
Kim de Mora
Alison Dell
Nancy Diniz
Stephen Donofrio
Ben Doranz
Sam Weiss Evans
Laura Forlano
Doug Goodwin
Christine Goulay
Fred Gould
Hank Greely
Gigi Gronvall
Christi Guerrini
Keira Havens
Denise Hoffman Brandt
Karen Hogan
Ryan Hoover
Kirsten Horning
Nancy J Kelley
Minji Kim
David Kong
Todd Kuiken
Jim Lane
Magnolia Laurie
Andrea Lipps
Ani Liu
Margaret MacDonald
Melissa Marra-Alvarez
Angela McQuillan
Michelle Millar Fisher
Leslie Mitchell
William Myers
Naomi Nakayama
Ann Neumann
Hemai Parthasarathy
Jeanne Pfordresher
Mirelle Phillips
Sukanya Punthambaker
Alexandra Ralevski
Simone Ross
Andrew Scarpelli
Jason Schupbach
Laura Splan
Orkan Telhan
Danielle Trofe
Harris Wang
Elizabeth Wissinger
Jiwon Woo
Elaine Young